HOT-ROLLED CARBON STEEL PLATE AND HIGH-STRENGTH LOW-ALLOY STEEL PLATE

HOT-ROLLED CARBON STEEL PLATE AND HIGH-STRENGTH LOW-ALLOY STEEL PLATE
Interim Review No. RD-2016-002

 

NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT OF INTERIM REVIEW

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) hereby gives notice that, pursuant to subsection 76.01(1) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), it has initiated an interim review of its order made on January 7, 2014, in Expiry Review No. RR-2013-002, its order made on January 30, 2015, in Expiry Review No. RR‑2014‑002, and its finding made on May 20, 2014, in Inquiry No. NQ‑2013‑005, concerning the dumping of certain hot-rolled carbon steel plate and high-strength low-alloy steel plate, as defined in each of the aforementioned proceedings. The aforementioned proceedings involve certain plate originating in or exported from the Republic of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Romania, Ukraine, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Indonesia, the Italian Republic, Japan and the Republic of Korea.

On August 8, 2016, the Tribunal informed parties to the aforementioned proceedings that it had determined that an interim review is warranted on the basis of facts related to the role and performance of service centres in the domestic industry that were not put into evidence in the original proceedings and that were not discoverable by the exercise of reasonable due diligence. The interim review was then held in abeyance pending resolution of the judicial review of Inquiry No. NQ‑2015‑001. The judicial review having now been resolved, the Tribunal will commence the interim review.

Each person or government wishing to participate in the interim review must file a notice of participation with the Tribunal on or before noon on July 6, 2018. Each counsel who intends to represent a party in the interim review must file a notice of representation, as well as a declaration and undertaking, with the Tribunal on or before noon on July 6, 2018.

On August 10, 2018, the Tribunal will distribute the public information to all parties that have filed notices of participation and the confidential information to counsel who have filed a declaration and undertaking with the Tribunal.

Interested parties are invited to file written submissions with the Tribunal no later than noon on August 24, 2018. Each person or government that files a submission in response to the notice of commencement of interim review will be given an opportunity to respond in writing to the representations of other persons or governments. Persons or governments wishing to respond to the submissions must do so no later than noon on September 7, 2018. Once written submissions are filed, the Tribunal will determine whether an oral hearing will be held or if it will proceed by way of written submissions. Submissions should be based exclusively on public information. However, relevant confidential information may be filed, if necessary, along with a comprehensive public summary or public edited version of the confidential information. Confidential submissions will be made available to counsel who have filed the relevant declarations and undertakings.

Parties are required to serve each other. Public submissions are to be served on counsel and those parties who are not represented by counsel. Confidential submissions are to be served only on counsel who have access to the confidential record and who have filed an Undertaking with the Tribunal. This information will be included in the List of Participants which will be distributed to counsel and parties no later than noon on July 11, 2018. Submissions are to be served in accordance with the directions below:

1.    It is recommended that submissions that contain protected information that is confidential to your company/government or your clients be submitted using the Tribunal’s Secure E-Filing Service. Submissions that contain confidential information may be served by electronic mail provided you are willing to accept the associated risks.

2.    Submissions that contain third-party confidential information, meaning confidential information belonging to a company/government that is not your own or that is not represented by you must be served by courier. Service must be effected so that the said submissions arrive on the stated due dates as set out above.

Please note that proof of service must be filed with the Tribunal at the same time as the submissions are served on the Tribunal. Please see the Tribunal’s Guideline on the Designation, Protection, Use and Transmission of Confidential Information found at http://www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/Confidentiality_guidelines_e for additional information.

Written submissions, correspondence and requests for information regarding this notice should be addressed to the Registrar of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, 15th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (telephone), citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (e-mail).

Parties and the public may file documents electronically with the Tribunal through its Secure E‑filing Service at https://efiling-depote-pub.citt-tcce.gc.ca/submit-eng.aspx. The information is fully encrypted from the sender to the Tribunal.

At the end of these proceedings, the Tribunal will issue a decision supported by a summary of the case, a summary of the arguments and an analysis of the case. The decision will be posted on its Web site and distributed to the parties and interested persons, as well as to organizations and persons that have registered to receive decisions of the Tribunal.

Written and oral communication with the Tribunal may be in English or in French.

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario
this 22nd day of June 2018

Case Number(s)

RD-2016-002

Attachment(s)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, June 22, 2018

Modification Date

Friday, June 22, 2018

TÔLES D’ACIER AU CARBONE ET TÔLES D’ACIER ALLIÉ RÉSISTANT À FAIBLE TENEUR, LAMINÉES À CHAUD

TÔLES D’ACIER AU CARBONE ET TÔLES D’ACIER ALLIÉ RÉSISTANT À FAIBLE TENEUR, LAMINÉES À CHAUD
Réexamen intermédiaire no RD-2016-002

 

AVIS D’OUVERTURE DE RÉEXAMEN INTERMÉDIAIRE

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur donne avis par les présentes, conformément au paragraphe 76.01(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), qu’il a entrepris un réexamen intermédiaire de son ordonnance rendue le 7 janvier 2014, dans le réexamen relatif à l’expiration nº RR‑2013‑002, de son ordonnance rendue le 30 janvier 2015, dans le réexamen relatif à l’expiration nº RR‑2014‑002, et de ses conclusions rendues le 20 mai 2014, dans l’enquête nº NQ‑2013‑005, concernant le dumping de certaines tôles d’acier au carbone et tôles d’acier allié résistant à faible teneur, laminées à chaud, telles que définies dans chacune des procédures susmentionnées. Les procédures susmentionnées concernent certaines tôles originaires ou exportées de la République de Bulgarie, de la République tchèque, de la Roumanie, d’Ukraine, de la République fédérative du Brésil, du Royaume du Danemark, de la République d’Indonésie, de la République italienne, du Japon et de la République de Corée.

Le 8 août 2016, le Tribunal a informé les parties aux procédures susmentionnées qu’il avait déterminé qu’un réexamen intermédiaire était justifié par des faits liés au rôle et au rendement des centres de service dans la branche de production nationale qui n’ont pas été présentés comme preuve dans le cadre des procédures et qui n’étaient pas décelables par l’exercice d’une diligence raisonnable. Le réexamen intermédiaire a ensuite été suspendu en attendant le règlement du contrôle judiciaire de l’enquête nº NQ‑2015‑001. Le contrôle judiciaire ayant maintenant été résolu, le Tribunal entamera le réexamen intermédiaire.

Chaque personne ou gouvernement souhaitant participer au réexamen intermédiaire doit déposer un avis de participation auprès du Tribunal au plus tard le 6 juillet 2018 à midi. Les conseillers juridiques qui entendent représenter une partie dans le réexamen intermédiaire doivent déposer un avis de représentation, ainsi qu’un acte de déclaration et d’engagement, auprès du Tribunal au plus tard le 6 juillet 2018 à midi.

Le 10 août 2018, le Tribunal fera parvenir les renseignements publics aux parties qui ont déposé un avis de participation et les renseignements confidentiels aux conseillers juridiques qui ont déposé un acte de déclaration et d’engagement auprès du Tribunal.

Les parties intéressées peuvent déposer des exposés écrits auprès du Tribunal au plus tard à midi le 24 août 2018. Chaque personne ou chaque gouvernement qui dépose un exposé en réponse à l’avis d’ouverture de réexamen intermédiaire aura l’occasion de répondre par écrit aux observations des autres personnes ou des autres gouvernements. Les personnes ou les gouvernements qui désirent répondre aux exposés doivent le faire au plus tard à midi le 7 septembre 2018. Une fois les exposés écrits ont été déposés, le Tribunal décidera si une audience sera tenue ou s’il entendra l’affaire sur la foi des renseignements au dossier. Les exposés devraient s’appuyer uniquement sur des renseignements publics. Cependant, les renseignements confidentiels qui ont trait aux questions dont est saisi le Tribunal peuvent être déposés, s’il y a lieu, accompagnés d’un sommaire global public ou d’une version publique où les renseignements confidentiels ont été supprimés. Les exposés confidentiels seront mis à la disposition des conseillers qui ont déposé les actes de déclaration et d’engagements requis.

Les parties doivent faire parvenir leur exposé respectif aux autres parties. Les exposés publics doivent être remis aux conseillers et aux parties qui ne sont pas représentées. Les exposés confidentiels ne doivent être remis qu’aux conseillers qui ont accès au dossier confidentiel et qui ont déposé auprès du Tribunal un acte d’engagement en matière de confidentialité. Ces renseignements figureront sur la liste des participants, laquelle sera envoyée aux conseillers et aux parties au plus tard à midi, le 11 juillet 2018. Les directives ci-dessous doivent être suivies :

1.    Il est recommandé que les exposés contenant des renseignements protégés qui sont confidentiels à votre entreprise/gouvernement ou vos clients soient déposés à l’aide du Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé du Tribunal. Les exposés contenant des renseignements confidentiels peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique à condition que vous acceptiez les risques associés.

2.    Les exposés contenant des renseignements confidentiels de tierces parties, c’est-à-dire des renseignements confidentiels ayant trait à une autre entreprise ou un autre gouvernement ou à une entreprise ou un gouvernement que vous ne représentez pas, doivent être envoyés par messagerie. Les exposés doivent parvenir aux intéressés selon les dates d’échéance indiquées ci-dessus.

Veuillez noter que les preuves de signification doivent être déposées auprès du Tribunal en même temps que le sont les exposés. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la Ligne directrice du Tribunal sur la désignation, protection, utilisation et transmission des renseignements confidentiels à l’adresse suivante : www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/Confidentiality_guidelines_f.

Les exposés écrits, la correspondance et les demandes de renseignements au sujet du présent avis doivent être envoyés au greffier, secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, 15e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (téléphone), tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca (courriel).

Les parties et le public peuvent déposer des documents électroniquement auprès du Tribunal au moyen de son Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé à l’adresse suivante : https://efiling-depote-pub.citt-tcce.gc.ca/submit-fra.aspx. Les renseignements sont entièrement chiffrés depuis l’expéditeur jusqu’au Tribunal.

À la fin de la présente procédure, le Tribunal rendra une décision, accompagnée d’un résumé du cas, d’un résumé des plaidoiries et d’une analyse du cas. La décision sera affichée sur son site Web et distribuée aux parties et aux personnes intéressées, ainsi qu’aux organismes et aux personnes qui se sont inscrits en vue de recevoir les décisions du Tribunal.

Vous pouvez communiquer oralement ou par écrit avec le Tribunal en français ou en anglais.

Fait à Ottawa (Ontario)
le 22e jour de juin 2018

Numéro(s) du cas

RD-2016-002

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

rd2q002_f.pdf (45.73 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 22 Juin 2018

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 22 Juin 2018