GYPSUM BOARD

GYPSUM BOARD
Preliminary Injury Inquiry No. PI-2018-003

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT OF PRELIMINARY INJURY INQUIRY

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal hereby gives notice that, pursuant to subsection 34(2) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), it has initiated a preliminary injury inquiry to determine whether the evidence discloses a reasonable indication that the alleged injurious dumping of gypsum board, sheet, or panel (“gypsum board”) originating in or exported from the United States of America, imported into Canada for use or consumption in the provinces of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba, as well as the Yukon and Northwest Territories, made to a width of 54 inches (1,371.6 mm), composed primarily of a gypsum core and faced or reinforced with paper or paperboard, including gypsum board meeting or supplied to meet ASTM C 1396 or ASTM C 1396M or equivalent standards, regardless of end use, edge‑finish, thickness, or length (but not width), excluding (a) gypsum board meeting ASTM C 1177 or ASTM C 1177M (commonly referred to and used primarily as “glass fiber re‑enforced sheathing board” but also sometimes used for internal applications for high mold/moisture resistant applications); (b) double layered glued paper-faced gypsum board (commonly referred to and used as “acoustic board); and (c) gypsum board meeting ISO16000‑23 for sorption of formaldehyde (the subject goods), has caused injury or retardation or is threatening to cause injury, as these words are defined in SIMA. All dimensions are plus or minus allowable tolerances in applicable standards.

The Tribunal’s preliminary injury inquiry will be conducted by way of written submissions. Each person or government wishing to participate in the preliminary injury inquiry must file a notice of participation with the Tribunal on or before July 4, 2018. Each counsel who intends to represent a party in the preliminary injury inquiry must file a notice of representation, as well as a declaration and undertaking, with the Tribunal on or before July 4, 2018.

On July 9, 2018, the Tribunal will issue a list of participants. Counsel and parties are required to serve their respective submissions on each other on the dates outlined below. Public submissions are to be served on counsel and those parties who are not represented by counsel. Confidential submissions are to be served only on counsel who have access to the confidential record, and who have filed an undertaking with the Tribunal. This information will be included in the list of participants. One complete electronic version of all submissions must be served on the Tribunal.

Submissions by parties opposed to the complaint must be filed not later than noon, on July 19, 2018. The complainant may make submissions in response to the submissions of parties opposed to the complaint not later than noon, on July 26, 2018. At that time, other parties in support of the complaint may also make submissions to the Tribunal.

In accordance with section 46 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, a person who provides information to the Tribunal and who wishes some or all of the information to be kept confidential must, among other things, submit a non-confidential edited version or summary of the information designated as confidential, or a statement indicating why such a summary cannot be made.

Written submissions, correspondence and requests for information regarding this notice should be addressed to the Registrar, Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, 15th Floor, 333 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (telephone), 613-990-2439 (fax), citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (e-mail).

Further details regarding this preliminary injury inquiry, including the schedule of key events, are contained in the sections entitled “Additional Information” and “Preliminary Injury Inquiry Schedule” of the notice of commencement of preliminary injury inquiry available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/whats-new.

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario,
this 22nd day of June 2018

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

DISTRIBUTION OF THE RECORD

On July 9, 2018, the Tribunal will distribute the public information received from the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) to all parties that have filed notices of participation, and the confidential information to counsel who have filed a declaration and undertaking with the Tribunal.

SUBMISSION DATES AND FACTORS TO BE ADDRESSED

Submissions by parties opposed to the complaint must be filed not later than noon, on July 19, 2018. These submissions should include evidence, e.g. documents and sources that support the factual statements in the submissions and argument concerning the questions of:

  • whether there are goods produced in Canada, other than those identified in the CBSA’s statement of reasons for initiating the investigations, that are like goods to the subject goods;
  • whether the subject goods comprise more than one class of goods;
  • which domestic producers of like goods comprise the domestic industry; and
  • whether the information before the Tribunal discloses a reasonable indication that the alleged dumping of the subject goods has caused injury or retardation, or is threatening to cause injury.

The complainant may make submissions in response to the submissions of parties opposed to the complaint not later than noon, on July 26, 2018. At that time, parties in support of the complaint may also make submissions to the Tribunal.

One complete electronic version of all submissions must be served on the Tribunal. Parties are required to serve each other with their respective submissions in accordance with the directions below:

1. - Submissions that contain information that is confidential to your company/government or your client may be served by electronic means provided you are willing to accept the associated risks.

2. - Submissions that contain third-party confidential information, meaning confidential information belonging to a company/government that is not your own or that is not represented by you must be served by courier. Service must be effected so that the said submissions arrive on the stated due dates as set out above.

Please note that proof of service must be filed with the Tribunal at the same time as the required copies are served on the Tribunal. Please see the Tribunal’s Confidentiality Guidelines found at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/confidentiality_guidelines_e for additional information.

REQUESTS FOR PRODUCT EXCLUSIONS

Parties should note that the Tribunal does not consider product exclusion requests during a preliminary injury inquiry, and, therefore, none should be filed at this stage. Should the matter proceed to a final injury inquiry, the schedule for filing product exclusion requests will be included in the notice of commencement of inquiry.

PROCEDURE FOR FILING WITH THE TRIBUNAL

Parties and the public may file documents electronically with the Tribunal through its Secure E‑filing Service at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html. The information is fully encrypted from the sender to the Tribunal.

OTHER INFORMATION

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules govern these proceedings.

The Tribunal has sent notice of the notice of commencement of preliminary injury inquiry and the preliminary injury inquiry schedule to domestic producers, importers and exporters with a known interest in the preliminary injury inquiry. The notice, additional information and the preliminary injury inquiry schedule listing the key events are available on the Tribunal’s Web site at www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/whats-new.

At the end of these proceedings, the Tribunal will issue a decision supported by a summary of the case, a summary of the arguments and an analysis of the case. The decision will be posted on its Web site and distributed to the parties and interested persons, as well as to organizations and persons that have registered to receive decisions of the Tribunal.

Written and oral communication with the Tribunal may be in English or in French.

PRELIMINARY INJURY INQUIRY SCHEDULE

June 22, 2018 - Notice of commencement of preliminary injury inquiry

July 4, 2018 - Notices of participation and representation, declarations and undertakings

July 9, 2018 - Distribution of documents received from the CBSA

July 19, 2018, by noon - Submissions by parties opposed to the complaint

July 26, 2018, by noon - Replies from the complainant and parties in support of the complaint

August 20, 2018 - Determination

September 4, 2018 - Reasons for determination

 

Case Number(s)

PI-2018-003

Attachment(s)

pi2s003_e.pdf (41.15 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, June 22, 2018

Modification Date

Friday, June 22, 2018

PLAQUES DE PLÂTRE

PLAQUES DE PLÂTRE
Enquête préliminaire de dommage no PI-2018-003

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

AVIS D’OUVERTURE D’ENQUÊTE PRÉLIMINAIRE DE DOMMAGE

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur donne avis par les présentes que, aux termes du paragraphe 34(2) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), il a ouvert une enquête préliminaire de dommage en vue de déterminer si les éléments de preuve indiquent, de façon raisonnable, que le présumé dumping dommageable de plaques, feuilles ou panneaux de plâtre (« plaques de plâtre ») originaires ou exportés des États‑Unis d’Amérique, importés au Canada pour être utilisés ou consommés dans les provinces de la Colombie‑Britannique, de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba, et aussi dans le territoire du Yukon et dans les Territoires du Nord‑Ouest, larges de 54 pouces (1 371,6 mm), composés principalement d’un cœur de plâtre soit recouvert de papier ou de carton, soit renforcé par ce moyen, y compris les plaques de plâtre conformes ou appelées à se conformer à la norme ASTM C 1396, à la norme ASTM C 1396M ou à des normes équivalentes, peu importe l’usage final, le placage de chant, l’épaisseur, et la longueur (mais non pas la largeur); ceci exclut toutefois : a) les plaques de plâtre conformes à la norme ASTM C 1177 ou ASTM C 1177M (plaques qui servent surtout de « panneaux de revêtement renforcés à la fibre de verre », et que l’on appelle couramment ainsi, mais qu’on utilise parfois à l’intérieur pour leur grande résistance à la moisissure et à l’humidité); b) les plaques de plâtre collées à double épaisseur recouvertes de papier (plaques qui servent souvent de « panneaux insonorisants », et que l’on appelle couramment ainsi); et c) les plaques de plâtre conformes à la norme ISO16000‑23 pour la sorption du formaldéhyde (les marchandises en question), ont causé un dommage ou un retard, ou menacent de causer un dommage, selon la définition de ces mots dans la LMSI. Toutes les dimensions comprennent les écarts positifs et négatifs qu’autorisent les différentes normes.

Aux fins de son enquête préliminaire de dommage, le Tribunal procédera sous forme d’exposés écrits. Chaque personne ou gouvernement qui souhaite participer à l’enquête préliminaire de dommage doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de participation au plus tard le 4 juillet 2018. Chaque conseiller qui désire représenter une partie à l’enquête préliminaire de dommage doit déposer auprès du Tribunal un avis de représentation ainsi qu’un acte de déclaration et d’engagement au plus tard le 4 juillet 2018.

Le 9 juillet 2018, le Tribunal distribuera la liste des participants. Les conseillers et les parties doivent faire parvenir leurs exposés respectifs aux autres conseillers et parties aux dates mentionnées ci-dessous. Les exposés publics doivent être remis aux conseillers et aux parties qui ne sont pas représentées. Les exposés confidentiels ne doivent être remis qu’aux conseillers qui ont accès au dossier confidentiel et qui ont déposé auprès du Tribunal un acte d’engagement en matière de confidentialité. Ces renseignements figureront sur la liste des participants. Une version électronique complète de tous les exposés doit être déposée auprès du Tribunal.

Les exposés des parties qui s’opposent à la plainte doivent être déposés au plus tard le 19 juillet 2018, à midi. La partie plaignante peut présenter des observations en réponse aux exposés des parties qui s’opposent à la plainte au plus tard le 26 juillet 2018, à midi. Au même moment, les parties qui appuient la plainte peuvent aussi présenter des exposés au Tribunal.

Aux termes de l’article 46 de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, une personne qui fournit des renseignements au Tribunal et qui désire qu’ils soient gardés confidentiels en tout ou en partie doit fournir, entre autres, une version ne comportant pas les renseignements désignés comme confidentiels ou un résumé ne comportant pas de tels renseignements, ou un énoncé indiquant pourquoi il est impossible de faire le résumé en question.

Les exposés écrits, la correspondance et les demandes de renseignements au sujet du présent avis doivent être envoyés au greffier, secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, 15e étage, 333, avenue Laurier Ouest, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7, 613-993-3595 (téléphone), 613-990-2439 (télécopieur), tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca (courriel).

Des renseignements additionnels concernant la présente enquête préliminaire de dommage, y compris le calendrier des étapes importantes, se trouvent dans les documents intitulés « Renseignements additionnels » et « Calendrier de l’enquête préliminaire de dommage » annexés à l’avis d’ouverture d’enquête préliminaire de dommage disponible sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/nouveautes.

Fait à Ottawa (Ontario)
le 22e jour de juin 2018

RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS

DISTRIBUTION DU DOSSIER

Le 9 juillet 2018, le Tribunal fera parvenir les renseignements publics reçus de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) à toutes les parties ayant déposé un avis de participation ainsi que les renseignements confidentiels aux conseillers ayant déposé un acte de déclaration et d’engagement auprès du Tribunal.

DATE DE DÉPÔT DES EXPOSÉS ET FACTEURS IMPORTANTS

Les exposés des parties qui s’opposent à la plainte doivent être déposés au plus tard le 19 juillet 2018, à midi. Ces exposés doivent comprendre des éléments de preuve, par exemple des documents et des sources à l’appui des énoncés des faits figurant dans les observations, et des arguments concernant les questions de savoir :

  • s’il se produit au Canada des marchandises, autres que les marchandises dénommées dans l’énoncé des motifs de l’ouverture des enquêtes de l’ASFC, qui sont similaires aux marchandises en question;
  • si les marchandises en question représentent plus d’une catégorie de marchandises;
  • quels sont les producteurs nationaux de marchandises similaires qui représentent la branche de production nationale;
  • si les renseignements mis à la disposition du Tribunal indiquent, de façon raisonnable, que le présumé dumping des marchandises en question a causé un dommage ou un retard ou menace de causer un dommage.

La partie plaignante peut présenter des observations en réponse aux exposés des parties qui s’opposent à la plainte au plus tard le 26 juillet 2018, à midi. Au même moment, les autres parties qui appuient la plainte peuvent aussi présenter des exposés au Tribunal.

Une version électronique complète de tous les exposés doit être déposée auprès du Tribunal. Les parties doivent faire parvenir leurs exposés respectifs aux autres parties selon les directives ci-dessous :

1. - Les exposés contenant des renseignements confidentiels ayant trait à votre entreprise ou gouvernement ou à votre client peuvent être expédiés par voie électronique à la condition que vous assumiez les risques qui y sont associés.

2. - Les exposés contenant des renseignements confidentiels de tierces parties, c’est-à-dire des renseignements confidentiels ayant trait à une autre entreprise ou un autre gouvernement ou à une entreprise ou un gouvernement que vous ne représentez pas, doivent être expédiés par messagerie. Les exposés doivent parvenir aux intéressés selon les dates d’échéance indiquées ci-dessus.

Veuillez noter que les preuves de signification doivent être déposées auprès du Tribunal en même temps que les copies des exposés. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices sur la confidentialité du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/confidentiality_guidelines_f.

DEMANDES D’EXCLUSION DE PRODUITS

Les parties devraient noter que le Tribunal n’étudie pas les demandes d’exclusion de produits dans le cadre d’une enquête préliminaire de dommage et que, par conséquent, aucune demande ne devrait être déposée à la présente étape. Si l’affaire est étudiée dans le cadre d’une enquête de dommage définitive, l’échéancier pour le dépôt des demandes d’exclusion de produits paraîtra dans l’avis d’ouverture d’enquête.

PROCÉDURE À SUIVRE POUR LE DÉPÔT AUPRÈS DU TRIBUNAL

Les parties et le public peuvent déposer des documents électroniquement auprès du Tribunal au moyen de son Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé à l’adresse https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_f.html. Les renseignements sont entièrement chiffrés depuis l’expéditeur jusqu’au Tribunal.

AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS

Les Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur s’appliquent à la présente procédure.

Le Tribunal a avisé des producteurs nationaux, des importateurs et des exportateurs qui ont un intérêt connu pour l’enquête préliminaire de dommage de l’avis d’ouverture d’enquête préliminaire de dommage et du calendrier de l’enquête préliminaire de dommage. L’avis, les renseignements additionnels et le calendrier de l’enquête préliminaire de dommage présentant les étapes principales se trouvent sur le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/fr/nouveautes.

À la fin de la présente procédure, le Tribunal rendra une décision, accompagnée d’un résumé du cas, d’un résumé des plaidoiries et d’une analyse du cas. La décision sera affichée sur son site Web et distribuée aux parties et aux personnes intéressées, ainsi qu’aux personnes et aux organismes qui se sont inscrits en vue de recevoir les décisions du Tribunal.

Vous pouvez communiquer oralement ou par écrit avec le Tribunal en français ou en anglais.

CALENDRIER DE L’ENQUÊTE PRÉLIMINAIRE DE DOMMAGE

Le 22 juin 2018 - Avis d’ouverture d’enquête préliminaire de dommage

Le 4 juillet 2018 - Avis de participation et de représentation, actes de déclaration et d’engagement

Le 9 juillet 2018 - Distribution des documents reçus de l’ASFC

Le 19 juillet 2018, au plus tard à midi - Exposés des parties s’opposant à la plainte

Le 26 juillet 2018, au plus tard à midi - Réponses de la partie plaignante et des autres parties appuyant la plainte

Le 20 août 2018 - Décision

Le 4 septembre 2018 - Motifs de la décision

 

Numéro(s) du cas

PI-2018-003

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

pi2s003_f.pdf (40.5 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 22 Juin 2018

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 22 Juin 2018