HOT-ROLLED CARBON STEEL PLATE

HOT-ROLLED CARBON STEEL PLATE
Expiry Review No. RR-2017-004

Order issued
Monday, April 9, 2018

 

IN THE MATTER OF an expiry review, pursuant to subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act, of the order made by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal on January 8, 2013, in Expiry Review No. RR-2012-001, concerning the dumping of hot‑rolled carbon steel plate and high‑strength low-alloy plate not further manufactured than hot-rolled, heat-treated or not, in cut lengths, in widths from 24 in. (+/‑ 610 mm) to 152 in. (+/- 3,860 mm) inclusive, and thicknesses from 0.187 in. (+/‑ 4.75 mm) to 4.0 in. (+/- 101.6 mm) inclusive, but excluding plate for use in the manufacture of pipe and tube (also known as skelp), plate in coil form, plate having a rolled, raised figure at regular intervals on the surface (also known as floor plate) and plate produced to American Society for Testing and Materials specifications A515 and A516M/A516, grade 70 (also known as pressure vessel quality plate) in thicknesses greater than 3.125 in. (+/- 79.3 mm), originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China.

ORDER

WHEREAS the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) is required, pursuant to section 76.03 of the Special Import Measures Act, to conduct an expiry review as to whether the expiry of its order is likely to cause injury to the domestic industry;

AND WHEREAS, based upon information available to the Tribunal, it appears that Russel Metals Inc. (Russel) is a producer of the goods that are the subject of the Tribunal’s inquiry;

AND WHEREAS Russel was directed to respond to the Tribunal’s Producers’ Questionnaire (available online) on or about March 8, 2018;

AND WHEREAS the Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal subsequently attempted to request certain information from Russel via telephone on March 27, 2018, with respect to the completion of its questionnaire response;

AND WHEREAS Russel has not provided certain information requested by the Tribunal;

AND WHEREAS the Tribunal considers such information to be relevant and important to the conduct of its inquiry;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to subsection 17(2) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Tribunal has, as regards the production and inspection of documents, the enforcement of its orders and other matters necessary or proper for the due exercise of its jurisdiction, all such powers, rights and privileges as are vested in a superior court of record;

AND UPON being satisfied that Russel has or is likely to have information in its possession or control relevant to the Tribunal’s inquiry;

THE TRIBUNAL ORDERS THAT:

1.   A duly authorized representative of Russel shall deliver to the Tribunal a certified written return of information in fulfilment of the information requirements listed in the attached schedule.

2.   Unless Russel satisfies the Tribunal in writing before 12:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on April 13, 2018, that this order should not have been issued or that the required information cannot reasonably be provided, the required information is to be received no later than 12:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on April 16, 2018. The information may be filed via the Tribunal’s secure E‑filing service at https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/transfer_e.html or by e‑mail at citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca, should the risks associated with this method of transmission be accepted by Russel, or by sending a hard copy or copy on digital media by courier to the following address:

The Registrar
Canadian International Trade Tribunal Secretariat
333 Laurier Avenue West
15th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

Telephone: 613-993-3595

3.   The information provided by Russel in fulfilment of the information requirements in the Tribunal’s Producers’ Questionnaire and the attached schedule may be designated as confidential by Russel in accordance with sections 43 to 49 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act.

Rose Ritcey
Rose Ritcey
Presiding Member

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Member

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Member

SCHEDULE

Information Required

  1. Schedule 6 – Employment, Hours Worked and Wages Paid for Hot-rolled Carbon Steel Plate to the Domestic Mills/Service Centre’s Questionnaire (“Employment” tab of questionnaire).
  2. Schedule 8 – Cost of Goods Manufactured for Domestically Produced Hot-rolled Carbon Steel Plate to the Domestic Mills/Service Centre’s Questionnaire (“Financial” tab of questionnaire).
  3. Schedule 9 – Income Statement for Domestically Produced Hot-rolled Carbon Steel Plate to the Domestic Mills/Service Centre’s Questionnaire (“Financial” tab of questionnaire).

In order to complete the schedules listed above, the Tribunal understands that certain assumptions and estimations may be necessary. If you are required to make assumptions or estimate data, please provide a description of any assumptions and estimates which were made.

Case Number(s)

RR-2017-004

Attachment(s)

Status

Publication Date

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Modification Date

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

TÔLES D’ACIER AU CARBONE LAMINÉES À CHAUD

TÔLES D’ACIER AU CARBONE LAMINÉES À CHAUD
Réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2017-004

Ordonnance rendue
le lundi 9 avril 2018

 

EU ÉGARD À un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, aux termes du paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, de l’ordonnance rendue par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur le 8 janvier 2013 dans le cadre du réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR-2012-001 concernant le dumping de tôles d’acier au carbone laminées à chaud et de tôles d’acier allié résistant à faible teneur, n’ayant subi aucun autre complément d’ouvraison que le laminage à chaud, traitées ou non à la chaleur, coupées à longueur, d’une largeur variant de 24 po (+/- 610 mm) à 152 po (+/- 3 860 mm) inclusivement, et d’une épaisseur variant de 0,187 po (+/- 4,75 mm) à 4 po (+/- 101,6 mm) inclusivement, mais à l’exclusion des tôles devant servir à la fabrication de tuyaux ou de tubes (aussi appelées « feuillards »), des tôles en bobines, des tôles dont la surface présente par intervalles un motif laminé en relief (aussi appelées « tôles de plancher ») et des tôles fabriquées selon les spécifications A515 et A516M/A516 de l’American Society for Testing and Materials, nuance 70 (aussi appelées « tôles pour appareils à pression ») d’une épaisseur supérieure à 3,125 po (+/- 79,3 mm), originaires ou exportées de la République populaire de Chine.

ORDONNANCE

ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) est tenu de déterminer, aux termes du paragraphe 76.03(10) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, si l’expiration de l’ordonnance susmentionnée risque de causer un dommage à la branche de production nationale;

ET ATTENDU QUE, selon les renseignements dont dispose le Tribunal, il semble que Russel Metals Inc. (Russel) soit un producteur des marchandises qui font l’objet de l’enquête du Tribunal;

ET ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal a demandé à Russel le ou vers le 8 mars 2018 de remplir le questionnaire à l’intention des producteurs (accessible en ligne);

ET ATTENDU QUE le Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a par la suite tenté d’obtenir certains renseignements de Russel par téléphone le 27 mars 2018 pour compléter ses réponses au questionnaire;

ET ATTENDU QUE Russel n’a pas fourni les renseignements demandés par le Tribunal;

ET ATTENDU QUE le Tribunal est d’avis que de tels renseignements sont pertinents et importants pour la conduite de son enquête;

ET ATTENDU QUE, aux termes du paragraphe 17(2) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, le Tribunal a, aux fins de la production et de l’examen des pièces, de l’exécution de ses ordonnances et de toutes autres questions liées à l’exercice de sa compétence, les attributions d’une cour supérieure d’archives;

LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE CE QUI SUIT :

1.   Un représentant dûment autorisé de Russel est sommé de communiquer au Tribunal les renseignements demandés dans l’annexe ci-jointe, accompagnés de l’attestation dûment remplie et signée.

2.   À moins que Russel ne convainque le Tribunal par écrit avant 12 h (heure de l’Est) le 13 avril 2018 que la présente ordonnance n’aurait pas dû être délivrée ou que les renseignements demandés ne peuvent être raisonnablement fournis, les renseignements demandés doivent parvenir au Tribunal au plus tard à 12 h (heure de l’Est) le 16 avril 2018. Les renseignements peuvent être déposés via le Service de dépôt électronique sécurisé (https://apps.citt-tcce.gc.ca/sftapp/CITT/html/sfts_f.html), ou par courriel (tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca) si Russel accepte les risques associés à cette méthode de transmission, ou en faisant parvenir une copie papier ou une copie sur support numérique par messagerie à l’adresse suivante :

Le greffier
Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G7

Téléphone : 613-993-3595

3.   Les renseignements fournis par Russel afin de satisfaire à la demande de renseignements du questionnaire à l’intention des producteurs et de l’annexe ci-jointe peuvent être désignés confidentiels conformément aux articles 43 à 49 de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

Rose Ritcey
Rose Ritcey
Membre présidant

Jean Bédard
Jean Bédard
Membre

Peter Burn
Peter Burn
Membre

ANNEXE

Renseignements demandés

  1. Annexe 6 – Emploi, heures travaillées et salaires payés pour les tôles d’acier au carbone laminées à chaud, Questionnaire à l’intention des aciéries nationales/centres de service (onglet « Emploi »).
  2. Annexe 8 – Coût des marchandises fabriquées pour les tôles d’acier au carbone laminées à chaud de production nationale, Questionnaire à l’intention des aciéries nationales/centres de service (onglet « Rendement financier »).
  3. Annexe 9 – État des résultats pour les tôles d’acier au carbone laminées à chaud de production nationale, Questionnaire à l’intention des aciéries nationales/centres de service (onglet « Rendement financier »).

Afin de remplir les annexes mentionnées ci-dessus, le Tribunal comprend que certaines extrapolations et estimations peuvent être nécessaires. Si vous devez faire des extrapolations ou estimer des données, veuillez décrire votre démarche.

Numéro(s) du cas

RR-2017-004

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mercredi 18 Avril 2018

Date de modification

Le Mercredi 18 Avril 2018